Cincinnati Bearcats

Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Columbus Tech Sector compared to Cincinnati.
Bookmark and Share
Bearcat 1985 Offline
Special Teams

I Root For: Cincinnati
Columbus Tech Sector compared to Cincinnati.
I rarely talk about it here, but this is kind of what I do for a living up in Chicago, and the writing has been on the wall here for over a decade. I know people like to cling to the old cliches that Columbus is a cowtown and Cincinnati is Paris on The Ohio, but complacency and living in the past are rarely the path forward.

This isn't some local booster rag but a SV based publication that's pretty widely read and respected:

https://techcrunch.com/2022/06/01/columb...lustwitter

UC and Cincinnati really need to step up their game in terms of the type of Silicon Valley town-gown collaborations in the tech sector. Cleveland does that with the Cleveland Clinic and Case, though their tech sector is overwhelmingly dominated by a small number of large bio investments rather than the Silicon Valley type of ecosystem that Columbus has built. People in my line, really don't see the same level of excitement coming out of Cincinnati right now.

06-02-2022 08:56 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Advertisement

mlb Offline
O' Great One

Donators
RE: Columbus Tech Sector compared to Cincinnati.
I find this to be very off base. First of all, Dayton is considered a much better tech hotbed than Columbus because of Wright Patterson AFB and the research that is done through that base. I see this as some sort of recruiting article to try to get more people to move there. Also, as a person who works in healthcare IT, I have never been told that Columbus is some sort of hotbed either. IT in general is becoming a national deal with everyone working from home anyway, so needing to recruit people locally is going to be come less important while pulling people in nationally (or potentially internationally) will become much more important.