Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

US Navy FONOP against... guess whom... India
Owl 69/70/75 Offline
Just an old rugby coach

I Root For: RiceBathChelsea

DonatorsNew Orleans Bowl
On April 7, the USS John Paul Jones apparently conducted a Freedom of Navigation Operation (FONOP) 130 miles inside India's exclusive economic zone. What?

To those not familiar with the term, a FONOP consists of sending a military ship or aircraft inside another nation's claimed exclusive economic zone without prior diplomatic clearance, as a way of saying "This isn't really yours. We have the right to come and go as we please." Russia routinely does it to Alaska and NATO countries. It creates a low level diplomatic incident of sorts.

Now, as a retired naval officer, I question the utility of FONOPs. I don't really see what they accomplish. But why in the name of all that is holy are we running a FONOP against someone who is supposed to be an ally, and potentially a very useful one against China?

I can only come up with two explanations:
1) Our capitulation to China is complete, and so we are happy pissing off India.
2) Our seamanship has gotten so bad the we don't even know where we are, and this story was ginned up to cover a major navigational screw-up.

Either explanation is both believable and alarming.

https://www.realcleardefense.com/article...73525.html
04-20-2021 07:21 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Advertisement

BartlettTigerFan Offline
Have gun Will travel

I Root For: Freedom
RE: US Navy FONOP against... guess whom... India
Quite alarming. India is much closer to our own value system than China ever will be.
04-20-2021 07:24 AM
49RFootballNow Offline
He who walks without rhythm

I Root For: Charlotte 49ers
I'm hoping......

..........................HOPING

This is the Biden Admin's attempt to say "see, we do it to everybody."

Have we FONOP'd China since mid-January?
04-20-2021 07:40 AM
maximus Offline
Hall of Famer

I Root For: MEMPHIS