Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Is Anybody Marketing The Program?
Bookmark and Share
$1.80 Offline
Water Engineer

I Root For: ETSU
Is Anybody Marketing The Program?
While this is my first post, I've been lurking on the board for almost two years. I've seen a lot of criticism of the atheletic program, most which is well deserved, but I don't remember reading any realistic suggestions for how to increase basketball attendance. While I'm all for getting football back, I also realize that we don't have a prayer of doing that until we get attendance up in basketball and from there, build a loyal fan base. Even considering the conference we play in; with a little decent marketing, an area the size of the Tri-Cities ought to be able to put 6000 fannies in the seats ...and somebody better start installing fire exit doors. While I know nothing about marketing (I majored in the sciences), even I know that if "you do what you've always done, you'll get what you always got". If in fact, someone from the University does actually read this board, would there be any benefit to have a thread with some realistic, cost effective suggestions on what could be done to increase attendance? What do you guys think?
12-23-2008 11:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Advertisement

etsualumni00 Offline
2nd String

I Root For:
RE: Is Anybody Marketing The Program?
I completely agree with you when you say "an area the size of the Tri-Cities ought to be able to put 6000 fannies in the seats". I don't think that will ever happen without football or with the current administration. They've proven they have the least amount of vision and drive of all the DI schools in the entire state. No other school has been "forced" to do what we've done.

Too many fans are angry and don't trust these guys. They will never be successful fundraising or attracting fans with the track record they have. We need an administration change to be able to move ETSU forward.