Kent State Golden Flashes

Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Kent State Hockey????
imradioboy Offline
2nd String

I Root For:

Off topic, but would you want to see varsity hockey back a t Kent? I was not in college when they axed the team, so I never got to see varsity hockey at Kent, was it good? did it draw? Do you think anybody will front the money to re-start the team??
I hope so. There is some good hockey played in the area on the highschool level, so we could stock the team with local talent. I know a team is not cheap, but if it enhances the profile of the school, I say go for it.
02-03-2003 08:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Advertisement

The Flash Offline
All American

I Root For: Kent State

I would love to see it back. If you have followed my posts at all through the years, I regularly rant about the Title IX elimination of the program. I was a big fan. I was a student when they joined the CCHA and there was a lot of excitement about it on campus. The chance to play the likes of OSU, MSU and UM at home was a big draw. We regularly kicked OSU's arse. It was fun to chant "OSU Sucks" and mean it. In the CCHA days, the rink sold out and there were plans on the board to expand the seating capacity. The student attendance was as good or better than basketball and the students had to pay for games, unlike the other sports. The program was on the rise just as it was killed. They never gave it a chance...

That said, it will never be reinstated while Queen Carol reigns over KSU. I spoke her personally when the decision was announced and she had no interest in saving the program. She didn't even try for private funding or raising ticket prices. Just cut :mad: 03-banghead

The irony is that Laing Kennedy played varsity hockey in college at Cornell, I believe... That said, the elimination was before his tenure at KSU.

<!--EDIT|The Flash|Feb 6 2003, 12:55 AM-->
02-05-2003 07:48 PM
Goozer Offline
Bench Warmer

I Root For: