CSNbbs
NCAA Women's Volleyball Tournament - Printable Version

+- CSNbbs (https://csnbbs.com)
+-- Forum: Active Boards (/forum-769.html)
+--- Forum: Big10bbs (/forum-259.html)
+---- Forum: Big 10 Conference Talk (/forum-167.html)
+---- Thread: NCAA Women's Volleyball Tournament (/thread-920280.html)

Pages: 1 2 3

NCAA Women's Volleyball Tournament - schmolik - 04-07-2021 06:00 PM

It's a fairly popular women's sport in the Big Ten, at least it was at Illinois and Penn State when I was there in the 90's. Penn State won seven national championships. They didn't win in the two years I was there but were pretty close and they won soon after I graduated so players that were there when I was there eventually won a national championship.

Women's volleyball is usually a fall sport but because of COVID-19 the NCAA women's volleyball season was delayed to the "winter/spring" 2021. The tournament was cut to 48 teams and will be played in its entirety in Omaha. The top 16 seeds will have byes to the 2nd round. Wisconsin is the overall #1 seed. Other Big Ten seeds are 3. Minnesota, 5. Nebraska, 7. Purdue, 9. Ohio State, and 13. Penn State. No other Big Ten teams made the tournament. The Big Ten is well represented at the top of the bracket but they were in some other sport and it didn't work so well.

2nd round games are April 15.

Full bracket: https://www.ncaa.com/brackets/volleyball-women/d1/2021

RE: NCAA Women's Volleyball Tournament - cubucks - 04-08-2021 08:28 AM

It's a solid sport with quite a few BIG schools. It very much does deserve a thread here and I'll comment as much as time allows.

Nebraska, Penn State, Illinois, Wisconsin and Minnesota have great programs.
Ohio State and Purdue aren't far behind.

It's no longer a West Coast and Midwestern sport. Texas and Florida both have great programs and I hope it will grow even larger. It is one of the most entertaining sports you can watch on TV, in my opinion.