CSNbbs
Big 10 ref admits blown call helped Alabama win 2017 MNC - Printable Version

+- CSNbbs (https://csnbbs.com)
+-- Forum: Active Boards (/forum-769.html)
+--- Forum: Lounge (/forum-564.html)
+---- Forum: College Sports and Conference Realignment (/forum-637.html)
+---- Thread: Big 10 ref admits blown call helped Alabama win 2017 MNC (/thread-894012.html)



Big 10 ref admits blown call helped Alabama win 2017 MNC - bullet - 02-08-2020 02:11 PM

https://www.dawgnation.com/football/tyler-simmons-refs-admit-blown-call-georgia-alabama

It was a play that might’ve cost UGA the 2017 national championship.

"...And Dan Capron, who is retiring as a longtime Big Ten referee, admitted that his crew blew the big call that helped Alabama rally to defeat UGA for the national title, in an interview with the Chicago Tribune’s Teddy Greenstein.

Flashback: The Bulldogs were ahead 13-0 in the third quarter when Simmons blocked a punt deep in Alabama territory that might’ve put the game way. However, Simmons was penalized for offsides, despite the fact that TV replays showed that Simmons clearly was not offsides – he timed the snap perfectly. (See video at bottom of page)

Here’s this weekend’s confession by Capron, the head referee for that infamous game:

“We had a miss. Alabama was on the ropes. They were deep in their own territory and they’re punting. The punt gets blocked. There’s a flag on the ground because the line judge had Georgia offside. Oh, boy. He (the player, Tyler Simmons) actually had a running start and timed it (properly). He wasn’t offside....”"

Alabama won in OT 26-23 when Tua replaced Jalen Hurts and lead them to a 4th quarter rally.


RE: Big 10 ref admits blown call helped Alabama win 2017 MNC - IWokeUpLikeThis - 02-09-2020 01:24 AM

Ton of tea
https://www.chicagotribune.com/sports/college/ct-dan-capron-big-ten-referee-20200208-k4s5uw4iujb5naot76qjj2eufe-story.html?outputType=amp


RE: Big 10 ref admits blown call helped Alabama win 2017 MNC - quo vadis - 02-09-2020 09:35 AM

(02-08-2020 02:11 PM)bullet Wrote:  https://www.dawgnation.com/football/tyler-simmons-refs-admit-blown-call-georgia-alabama

It was a play that might’ve cost UGA the 2017 national championship.

"...And Dan Capron, who is retiring as a longtime Big Ten referee, admitted that his crew blew the big call that helped Alabama rally to defeat UGA for the national title, in an interview with the Chicago Tribune’s Teddy Greenstein.

Flashback: The Bulldogs were ahead 13-0 in the third quarter when Simmons blocked a punt deep in Alabama territory that might’ve put the game way. However, Simmons was penalized for offsides, despite the fact that TV replays showed that Simmons clearly was not offsides – he timed the snap perfectly. (See video at bottom of page)

Here’s this weekend’s confession by Capron, the head referee for that infamous game:

“We had a miss. Alabama was on the ropes. They were deep in their own territory and they’re punting. The punt gets blocked. There’s a flag on the ground because the line judge had Georgia offside. Oh, boy. He (the player, Tyler Simmons) actually had a running start and timed it (properly). He wasn’t offside....”"

Alabama won in OT 26-23 when Tua replaced Jalen Hurts and lead them to a 4th quarter rally.

Except ... he also says they missed a false start on Alabama on that play too. If that was called, the blocked punt wouldn't have counted anyway.


RE: Big 10 ref admits blown call helped Alabama win 2017 MNC - bullet - 02-09-2020 09:46 AM

(02-09-2020 09:35 AM)quo vadis Wrote:  
(02-08-2020 02:11 PM)bullet Wrote:  https://www.dawgnation.com/football/tyler-simmons-refs-admit-blown-call-georgia-alabama

It was a play that might’ve cost UGA the 2017 national championship.

"...And Dan Capron, who is retiring as a longtime Big Ten referee, admitted that his crew blew the big call that helped Alabama rally to defeat UGA for the national title, in an interview with the Chicago Tribune’s Teddy Greenstein.

Flashback: The Bulldogs were ahead 13-0 in the third quarter when Simmons blocked a punt deep in Alabama territory that might’ve put the game way. However, Simmons was penalized for offsides, despite the fact that TV replays showed that Simmons clearly was not offsides – he timed the snap perfectly. (See video at bottom of page)

Here’s this weekend’s confession by Capron, the head referee for that infamous game:

“We had a miss. Alabama was on the ropes. They were deep in their own territory and they’re punting. The punt gets blocked. There’s a flag on the ground because the line judge had Georgia offside. Oh, boy. He (the player, Tyler Simmons) actually had a running start and timed it (properly). He wasn’t offside....”"

Alabama won in OT 26-23 when Tua replaced Jalen Hurts and lead them to a 4th quarter rally.

Except ... he also says they missed a false start on Alabama on that play too. If that was called, the blocked punt wouldn't have counted anyway.

As I recall, they scored on that drive after the first down.


RE: Big 10 ref admits blown call helped Alabama win 2017 MNC - Hokie Mark - 02-10-2020 11:44 AM

face it, no referee blew any calls in that game as bad as Georgia's secondary blew the coverage on the winning TD pass.


RE: Big 10 ref admits blown call helped Alabama win 2017 MNC - bullet - 02-10-2020 11:47 AM

(02-10-2020 11:44 AM)Hokie Mark Wrote:  face it, no referee blew any calls in that game as bad as Georgia's secondary blew the coverage on the winning TD pass.

That is true.


RE: Big 10 ref admits blown call helped Alabama win 2017 MNC - Captain Bearcat - 02-10-2020 02:02 PM

This is another reason I don't like football's replay system.

Replay was pitched as the way to reduce arguments over calls made by the refs. But arguments still happen just as often as they always did.


RE: Big 10 ref admits blown call helped Alabama win 2017 MNC - Garrettabc - 02-10-2020 03:07 PM

If you can’t get the call right after replay, then there is something truly wrong with the officiating. My guess is that Vegas has an influence.


RE: Big 10 ref admits blown call helped Alabama win 2017 MNC - Scoochpooch1 - 02-12-2020 07:57 PM

Well Clemson was allowed to pick DBs twice vs Alabama in the 2016 game, so let's not cherry pick plays without being fair.


RE: Big 10 ref admits blown call helped Alabama win 2017 MNC - bullet - 02-12-2020 09:34 PM

(02-12-2020 07:57 PM)Scoochpooch1 Wrote:  Well Clemson was allowed to pick DBs twice vs Alabama in the 2016 game, so let's not cherry pick plays without being fair.

That's totally different. That's a judgement call that some officials will not call. A fake offsides is really bad.