CSNbbs
How can you accept the results of the play on offense and still accept a live ball pe - Printable Version

+- CSNbbs (https://csnbbs.com)
+-- Forum: Active Boards (/forum-769.html)
+--- Forum: AACbbs (/forum-460.html)
+---- Forum: Members (/forum-401.html)
+----- Forum: The Gregory A. Ruehlmann Sr. Memorial Cincinnati Board (/forum-404.html)
+----- Thread: How can you accept the results of the play on offense and still accept a live ball pe (/thread-889046.html)



How can you accept the results of the play on offense and still accept a live ball pe - bearcat72 - 11-29-2019 11:55 PM

Live ball holding on the defensive secondary. Get the results of the play and yardage for the penalty? Coached high school football many years and this is a new one on me. Has the rule changed on a defensive secondary penalty. Certainly can't accept a pass completion and a pass inference penalty added to the play. You take the results of the play or the penalty yardage. I could understand the play and penalty yardage if it was a dead ball. Game today wasn't that. Help me out on this one.


RE: How can you accept the results of the play on offense and still accept a live ball pe - rath v2.0 - 11-30-2019 12:02 AM

Same call a few times this year. Ohio state game had one or two..

I think on QB scrambles when there is holding of a receiver in a route they tack it on now. Perhaps a recent change or emphasis...this is the 1st season I’ve noticed it.


RE: How can you accept the results of the play on offense and still accept a live ball pe - BearcatMan - 11-30-2019 10:27 AM

(11-30-2019 12:02 AM)rath v2.0 Wrote:  Same call a few times this year. Ohio state game had one or two..

I think on QB scrambles when there is holding of a receiver in a route they tack it on now. Perhaps a recent change or emphasis...this is the 1st season I’ve noticed it.

Was about to bring up the OSU game...I think a few of us brought that up in real time that we had never heard of that. Definitely not something that happens often as most of the time the result of a play with holding is an incompletion or a sack.


RE: How can you accept the results of the play on offense and still accept a live ball pe - QSECOFR - 11-30-2019 03:23 PM

72, glad you posted that because it confused the heck out of me. I’m glad that I wasn’t the only one who didn’t understand that call.


RE: How can you accept the results of the play on offense and still accept a live ball pe - Dannyboy - 12-01-2019 06:45 AM

If it’s a scramble they add it on. I think that started a few years back.