Full Version: Williams and Dockett
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Williams and Dockett Named Outland Trophy Candidates
The award is presented annually by the FWAA to the nation's top interior lineman

</font><blockquote><font size="1" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">quote:</font><hr /><font size="2" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">August 9, 2002

TALLAHASSEE, FLA. - Florida State senior offensive tackle Brett Williams and junior defensive tackle Darnell Dockett were named to the 2002 Outland Trophy Watch List, announced Friday by the Football Writers Association of America. The Outland Trophy winner will be announced December 12 on the ESPN College Football Awards Show. Three finalists will be selected in late November to appear on the show.

Williams, a native of Kissimmee, Fla., is a three-time All-ACC selection who was named to the 2002 Playboy Preseason All-America team. He won the Jacobs Blocking Trophy last season as the top offensive lineman in the ACC. Williams started seven games at tackle as a freshman, including the national championship game in the Sugar Bowl, and has been a mainstay in the FSU starting lineup since.

"This is a great award and it's something you would obviously love to win as a college football player," said Williams. "But, my main goal is winning a national championship and helping this team be as good as it can possibly be. Anything beyond that is icing on the cake."

Dockett, who hails from Burtonsville, Md., is a three-year starter for the Seminoles at defensive tackle. He was a first team All-ACC selection last year after setting a new Florida State single season record with 22 tackles for loss. Dockett needs just four tackles for loss this season to surpass Ron Simmons for first on the FSU career list. He was named the freshman defensive player of the year in 2000 by Football News.

"I'm honored to be listed as one of the candidates for the Outland Trophy," said Dockett. "My job is to go out and play the best I can each and every Saturday. If I do that, we'll accomplish our goals as a team and the awards will fall into place after that."

Florida State has never had a player win the Outland Trophy. Seminole defensive standouts Andre Wadsworth (1997) and Corey Simon (1999) were both runners-up for the Outland.
</font><hr /></blockquote><font size="2" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">[Image: a-outland.jpg]
Reference URL's