Full Version: Small Conference Successes
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Thought some of you might find the following of interest; it is published in today's online Memphis Commercial Appeal:

Small-conference successes
August 1, 2004

No player from a league not currently in the BCS has won the Heisman Trophy since BYU quarterback Ty Detmer in 1990. Since then, only Marshall Faulk (second in '92) has come close. Following are players from non-BCS schools who have finished in the top 10 in the voting since 1990:


2003 Ben Roethlisberger QB Miami (Ohio): 9th

2002 Byron Leftwich QB Marshall: 6th

2001 David Carr QB Fresno State: 5th

2000 LaDainian Tomlinson RB TCU: 4th

1999 Chad Pennington QB Marshall: 5th

1999 Tim Rattay QB Louisiana Tech: 10th

1998 Daunte Culpepper QB Central Florida: 6th

1998 Shaun King QB Tulane: 10th

1997 Randy Moss WR Marshall: 4th

1996 Marcus Harris WR Wyoming: 9th

1996 Beau Morgan QB Air Force: 10th

1994 Steve NcNair QB Alcorn State: 3rd

1993 Marshall Faulk RB San Diego State: 4th

1993 LeShon Johnson RB Northern Illinois: 6th

1993 Trent Dilfer QB Fresno State: 9th

1992 Marshall Faulk RB San Diego State: 2nd

1991 Ty Detmer QB BYU: 3rd

1991 Jeff Blake RB East Carolina: 7th

1991 Marshall Faulk RB San Diego State: 9th

1990 Ty Detmer QB BYU -- WON !!!!

1990 David Klinger QB Houston: 5th

1990 Mike Mayweather RB Army: 10th
Reference URL's