Full Version: Dallas Morris on POY Watch List
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Dallas Morris Named to 2005 Brooks Wallace Award Watch List
The Wallace Award is presented annually to the nation's best college baseball player
Wednesday, November 24, 2004

LAFAYETTE – Louisiana’s Ragin’ Cajuns senior third baseman Dallas Morris is one of 58 student-athletes named to the 2005 Brooks Wallace Award watch list, as announced Tuesday by the College Baseball Foundation.

The Brooks Wallace Award is presented annually to the national college baseball player of the year. Cal State Fullerton’s Kurt Suzuki received the Brooks Wallace Award in 2004.

The Destin, Fla., native had a career year in 2004. In only 39 games, Morris led the Cajuns in batting average (.373), slugging percentage (.740), triples (5), RBI (51) and homeruns (12). Morris also led the team in stolen base percentage (8 SB in 9 attempts). Despite suffering a season-ending injury, Morris received second team All-Sun Belt honors last season.

On April 12, Morris was named Sun Belt Player of the Week, after guiding the Cajuns to a three-game home sweep of New Mexico State. During the weekend, Morris went 6-for-12 with a double, triple, two homeruns and four RBI.

Morris and the Ragin’ Cajuns concluded the 2004 season with a 34-23 overall record, finishing third at the Dodge Sun Belt Conference baseball tournament in Mobile, Ala.

Morris is the only Sun Belt Conference player named to the 2005 Wallace Watch List. Florida Atlantic outfielder Tim Mascia was also named to the Wallace Watch. FAU will join the Sun Belt Conference in all sports for the 2006-07 season.

Morris is one of three Louisiana baseball players named to the Watch List, joining Louisiana State senior outfielder Ryan Patterson and Tulane junior utility player Brian Bogusevic.

2005 Wallace Watch

Byron Barber, OF, College of Charleston
Ryne Malone, 1B, Florida State
Dennis Bigley, DH/P, Oral Roberts
Ian Kennedy, P, USC
Cameron Blair, SS, Texas Tech
Ryan Patterson, OF, LSU
Travis Buck, OF, Arizona State
Matthew Iouye, OF, Hawai’i
Steve Caravati, OF, Ohio State
Christian Vitters, 2B, Fresno State
Cesar Carillo, P, Miami
Ryan Chambers, OF, BYU
Brad Corley, OF, Mississippi State
Jeff Corsaletti, OF, Florida
Trevor Crowe, OF, Arizona
Andy Hunter, 1B, Minnesota
Ryan Doherty, P, Notre Dame
Shelby Ford, SS, TCU
Michael Faulk, 1B, Cal State Northridge
Jack McLintock, OF, SDSU
Michael Gardner, P, Texas-Arlington
Matt McHargue, 1B, USF
Jim Geldhof, 3B, Central Michigan
Marc Maddox, 1B, Southern Miss
Danny Gil, P, Miami
Ty Wright, DH/ATH, Oklahoma St.
Alex Gordon, 3B, Nebraska
Brian Bogusevic, DH/ATH, Tulane
Stephen Head, DH/P, Mississippi
Eric Thornton, DH/ATH, Oklahoma
Paul Janish, SS, Rice
Kris Harvey, DH/ATH, Clemson
Warner Jones, 2B, Vanderbilt
Dan Stovall, 1B, New Mexico
Wade LeBlanc, P, Alabama
Zeke Parraz, SS, UNLV
Sam LeCure, P, Texas
Zach Zuercher, P, Rhode Island
Jeff Lincecum, P, Washington
Steven Blackwood, OF, Georgia Tech
Jed Lowrie, 2B, Stanford
Jacob Butler, OF, Nevada
Tim Mascia, OF, Florida Atlantic
Dallas Morris, 3B, Louisiana
Jason Meyer, P, Texas A&M
Jim Negrych, 2B, Pittsburgh
Steve Pearce, 3B, South Carolina
Mike Pelfrey, P, Wichita State
Chris Rahl, OF, William and Mary
Cesar Ramos, P, Long Beach State
Aaron Rawl, P, South Carolina
Anthony Rea, P, Santa Clara
Ricky Romero, P, Cal State Fullerton
Will Startup, P, Georgia
Nate Stone, 2B, Army
Kiel Thibault, C, Gonzaga
Derrick Gordon, P, Lamar

-- Ragin’ Cajuns --
Reference URL's