Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Interesting article on Ark State suing Miami
msm96wolf Offline
All American

I Root For:
http://www.kait8.com/story/37484717/a-st...elled-game

Just reading the contract, it does seem Ark State does not have a leg to stand on. Item 14 seems to have Miami's covered but I admit I am not a lawyer or slept at a Holiday Inn Express.

Pretty cool to actually see these documents.
02-14-2018 09:21 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Advertisement

Wedge Offline
Hall of Famer

I Root For: California
RE: Interesting article on Ark State suing Miami
-- Arkansas State wanted the game to be rescheduled for 2020 or 2021

-- Miami said, nope, our only open date in those seasons is reserved for a home game; we'll play you there in 2024 or 2025

-- Arkansas State said, nope, send us a check asap or we'll sue you in state court in Arkansas
02-14-2018 09:52 PM
Attackcoog Offline

I Root For: Houston
(02-14-2018 09:21 PM)msm96wolf Wrote:  http://www.kait8.com/story/37484717/a-st...elled-game

Just reading the contract, it does seem Ark State does not have a leg to stand on. Item 14 seems to have Miami's covered but I admit I am not a lawyer or slept at a Holiday Inn Express.

Pretty cool to actually see these documents.

Except that language only works if playing the game is “impossible”. AStates letter has gone into great detail as to how the game was playable, flights were available, facilities were available, and make-up options were (and still are) available. You are required in these situations to make a reasonable effort to mitigate damages. The Miami case has a serious problem in that area.
(This post was last modified: 02-14-2018 10:04 PM by Attackcoog.)
02-14-2018 10:01 PM
arkstfan Away
Sorry folks

I Root For: Fresh Starts