Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Post Reply 
Monarch Media
Author Message
Bookmark and Share
EverRespect Offline
Free Kaplony
*

Posts: 22,526
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 544
I Root For: ODU
Location:
Post: #1
Monarch Media
A couple of quesions before I buy this:

1. Does it work on Android 5?

2. Someone mentioned in another thread that it works with Chromecast. Is there an app I need to download or is there a cast button on the video player directly from the website?
11-16-2015 08:16 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply

Punk Offline
1st String
*

Posts: 1,260
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 9
I Root For: Old Dominion
Location: Mechanicsville, Va
Post: #2
RE: Monarch Media
(11-16-2015 08:16 AM)EverRespect Wrote:  A couple of quesions before I buy this:

1. Does it work on Android 5?

2. Someone mentioned in another thread that it works with Chromecast. Is there an app I need to download or is there a cast button on the video player directly from the website?

I had to download the Old Dominion premium app to play Monarch Media on my phone. It was a one time fee of like $5.

In order to use Chromecast: You need to cast your screen, and then open the app and play the video. It's not as phone friendly as the Watch ESPN app(built in Chromecast button), but you are still able to put the video on a TV.
11-16-2015 08:25 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
EverRespect Offline
Free Kaplony
*

Posts: 22,526
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 544
I Root For: ODU
Location:
Post: #3
RE: Monarch Media
(11-16-2015 08:25 AM)Punk Wrote:  
(11-16-2015 08:16 AM)EverRespect Wrote:  A couple of quesions before I buy this:

1. Does it work on Android 5?

2. Someone mentioned in another thread that it works with Chromecast. Is there an app I need to download or is there a cast button on the video player directly from the website?

I had to download the Old Dominion premium app to play Monarch Media on my phone. It was a one time fee of like $5.

In order to use Chromecast: You need to cast your screen, and then open the app and play the video. It's not as phone friendly as the Watch ESPN app(built in Chromecast button), but you are still able to put the video on a TV.

Thanks! Are you on Android 5? Sometimes when you cast a screen without a Chromecast button, the video and sound are out of sync. Is that the case here or do they sync?
11-16-2015 08:30 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Punk Offline
1st String
*

Posts: 1,260
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 9
I Root For: Old Dominion
Location: Mechanicsville, Va
Post: #4
RE: Monarch Media
(11-16-2015 08:30 AM)EverRespect Wrote:  
(11-16-2015 08:25 AM)Punk Wrote:  
(11-16-2015 08:16 AM)EverRespect Wrote:  A couple of quesions before I buy this:

1. Does it work on Android 5?

2. Someone mentioned in another thread that it works with Chromecast. Is there an app I need to download or is there a cast button on the video player directly from the website?

I had to download the Old Dominion premium app to play Monarch Media on my phone. It was a one time fee of like $5.

In order to use Chromecast: You need to cast your screen, and then open the app and play the video. It's not as phone friendly as the Watch ESPN app(built in Chromecast button), but you are still able to put the video on a TV.

Thanks! Are you on Android 5? Sometimes when you cast a screen without a Chromecast button, the video and sound are out of sync. Is that the case here or do they sync?

I used it Friday night. It was a tad off during the first half, but seemed to be fine during the second half. I wasn't sure if it was Chromecast or Monarch Media that was the problem.

It worked well last season for me. Living out of town, it's better than nothing!
11-16-2015 08:37 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply

ODUBB35 Offline
Heisman
*

Posts: 5,351
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 98
I Root For: Old Dominion
Location: Stuarts Draft, VA
Post: #5
RE: Monarch Media
I have Android 5. The ODU Premium App works fine. I also have a FireTV Stick and use screen mirroring, but you will need a lot of bandwidth to do this.
11-16-2015 08:40 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
EverRespect Offline
Free Kaplony
*

Posts: 22,526
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 544
I Root For: ODU
Location:
Post: #6
RE: Monarch Media
(11-16-2015 08:40 AM)ODUBB35 Wrote:  I have Android 5. The ODU Premium App works fine. I also have a FireTV Stick and use screen mirroring, but you will need a lot of bandwidth to do this.

Thanks, that is what I need. Worth a try and sounds like worst case is I don't have the bandwidth and have to watch it on my phone.
11-16-2015 08:43 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Fatalisk Offline
All American
*

Posts: 3,663
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 32
I Root For: Old Dominion
Location:
Post: #7
Monarch Media
So you can only do screen mirroring/sharing with the streaming devices? I have a Roku and was wondering if there is a legit app to watch monarch media.
(This post was last modified: 11-16-2015 08:59 AM by Fatalisk.)
11-16-2015 08:58 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply

ODUBB35 Offline
Heisman
*

Posts: 5,351
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 98
I Root For: Old Dominion
Location: Stuarts Draft, VA
Post: #8
RE: Monarch Media
(11-16-2015 08:58 AM)Fatalisk Wrote:  So you can only do screen mirroring/sharing with the streaming devices? I have a Roku and was wondering if there is a legit app to watch monarch media.

I actually installed the ODU app (sideloaded) onto my FireTV Stick. It runs, but I can't control or select anything.

As far as bandwidth, you don't need alot to stream, but you will if you want to stream to and mirror over the same network.
11-16-2015 09:12 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Chillie Willie Offline
1st String
*

Posts: 1,282
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 13
I Root For: Old Dominion
Location:
Post: #9
RE: Monarch Media
You can mirror with the Roku if you have a Roku 3 or above. But as far as I know there is not a dedicated Monarch Media channel on Roku nor do I expect there to be one. If there is that would be great. Regarding the audio, I watched the hoops game Friday night on my phone and the audio was slightly behind. I suspect the problem was with MM trying to sync the radio broadcast with the video. I hack issues with the video also, wish they would put game and shot clock up there and spell the opponent's name correctly. But otherwise was a decent feed. One other thing, after reading the FAQs the "one time" fee is actually a yearly fee.
11-16-2015 10:03 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Blue_Trombone Offline
All American
*

Posts: 3,635
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 100
I Root For: Old Dominion
Location:
Post: #10
RE: Monarch Media
I don't know why there isn't an ODU Roku app, it'd be perfect! Guess there isn't enough demand/resources to do right now.

Although that goes the same for CUSA and ASN networks. If ASN could get all their games streamed onto Roku I'd be in love with ASN again.
(This post was last modified: 11-16-2015 11:38 AM by Blue_Trombone.)
11-16-2015 11:37 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)


Copyright © 2002-2017 Collegiate Sports Nation Bulletin Board System (CSNbbs), All Rights Reserved.
CSNbbs is an independent fan site and is in no way affiliated to the NCAA or any of the schools and conferences it represents.
This site monetizes links. FTC Disclosure.
Powered By MyBB, © 2002-2017 MyBB Group.