Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

GoR’s are unbreakable
Nebraskafan Offline
Banned

I Root For: Nebreaska
GoR’s are unbreakable
Likely not what people may want to read, but it is always best to know the real truth. This article is arguably the best article I have seen written on this topic.

Please take the time to read it. It is a great read.

http://big12fanatics.com/expansion-p...-grant-rights/

Grant of Rights
...GoR’s are unbreakable, as they have been upheld in court numerous times in multiple industries, but they are not unmalleable. They are often bought and sold within the process of doing business. This is an extremely important distinction.

I’m not a media lawyer, but I’ve talked to a few and what I can tell you about a Grant of Rights (GoR) is they are not unique to Sports Conferences. They are tried and true contracts that are used for nearly every endeavor where someone provides some value to something you created. For instance, you could write a song and grant the rights to a recording label to market it for you. Or, you could be an author and grant the rights to your work to a publishing house to provide it a larger distribution or even grant the rights to make a movie adaptation of your story. Or, you could have produced a TV show and granted the rights to a network to broadcast it.

All contracts can be adapted if both parties sign off on it, but the strength of the Grant of Rights, as opposed to the buyout, is that the GoR has an end date. You will always get your rights back at some future date, as opposed to a buyout which runs indefinitely. Think of it as a contract a baseball player has with a team. They are paid to perform under the contract and at the end of the contract they can become a free agent. However, they cannot walk away from the team and play for another team mid contract and expect to get paid. The only way that works is if the team they are on sells their rights to another baseball team.