Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Duke professor on leave after racist comments on NYT website
Fort Bend Owl Online
Legend

I Root For: An easy win
The Parliament Awards
Duke professor on leave after racist comments on NYT website
http://www.slate.com/blogs/the_slatest/2...trage.html

Some of his comments probably ring true, but many are wrong and just highly inappropriate for him to post in a public forum. The professor insists he isn't racist or wrong.

He says at the end of his comments...

I am a professor at Duke University. Every Asian student has a very simple old American first name that symbolizes their desire for integration. Virtually every black has a strange new name that symbolizes their lack of desire for integration. The amount of Asian-white dating is enormous and so surely will be the intermarriage. Black-white dating is almost non-existent because of the ostracism by blacks of anyone who dates a white.

It was appropriate that a Chinese design won the competition for the Martin Luther King state. King helped them overcome. The blacks followed Malcolm X.

His name comments are a bit of an exaggeration. I also disagree on his dating comment (on both grounds really - I don't see the amount of Asian-white dating as being 'enormous').
05-18-2015 06:46 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Advertisement

QuestionSocratic Offline
Banned

I Root For: Buffalo
RE: Duke professor on leave after racist comments on NYT website
Asian women are well known for their Taoist sexual adventurousness and variety.
05-18-2015 07:26 AM
VA49er Offline
Legend

I Root For: Charlotte
(05-18-2015 06:46 AM)Fort Bend Owl Wrote:  http://www.slate.com/blogs/the_slatest/2...trage.html

Some of his comments probably ring true, but many are wrong and just highly inappropriate for him to post in a public forum. The professor insists he isn't racist or wrong.