UAB Blazers

Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Music alumni viewpoint
UABDrums Offline
Water Engineer

I Root For: UAB Blazers
Music alumni viewpoint
I read this blog practically daily. But I try to stay out of the conversations.

I chose UAB because of the music faculty. All had doctorates, minus 2 or 3 of them. Not every music department in the state can claim that. Despite the record on the field over the last several years the music department has seen continued overall growth. So much so that shortly after I graduated (2010) a 2nd assistant band director was added.

I know some have already mentioned this, but let us be clear about this. If UAB football goes, so does half (or more) of the music department.

With all the downtown resurgence happening: lofts, apartment complexes, the downtown publix; the growth of Avondale, lake view district, and the regions park area will ALL be affected. If UAB football goes, so does the undergraduate side of campus; so does downtown Birmingham.

If UAB football goes, then so must other sports to balance out the losses of men athletics scholarships. Campus life will also be affected. Student enrollment will suffer. And we will be left with very shiny, new apartment complexes with no student population to fill them.

I have never been more proud of the unity I see joining all the green and gold faithful together for one single cause. I've never been one to call, email, or write to those powers that be, but rest assured EVERY women's coach will get an email of appreciation for the stand they have made to help save our university!

Ever loyal, ever faithful, to dear ol' U. A. B!!!
11-26-2014 09:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Advertisement

the_blazerman Offline
Legend

I Root For: UAB
RE: Music alumni viewpoint
A lot of Christmas cards may be in order.
11-26-2014 09:49 PM
58-56 Offline
Blazer Revolutionary

I Root For: Fire Ray Watts

BlazerTalk Award