Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Future of athletics, specifically football
ClairtonPanther Offline
people need to wake up

I Root For: Pitt/Navy

Donators
As much as it pains me, football is a dying brand that already seen it's peak. For one, less kids are playing sports, and in particular... football. This is due to things like video games, but the concussion issue is the 1000 lb gorilla. You're already seeing less and less kids play HS football. When I graduated from Clairton in 01, the team our Sr. year had 40-45 kids on the roster. Today, the roster is 30-35 and sometimes dresses as few as 20 kids. There's a school nearby that is double the size of Clairton and is barely able to field a team, as well as numerous schools the size of Clairton. And this just isn't a trend here in WPA, it's a national trend... with an exception of Texas and Florida.

Lets look at attendance; schools like Alabama & Michigan are struggling to keep their students the entire game. Football games are more of a chore to students rather than going out and rooting for the team. Hell, even a lot of long time fans rather sit at home and watch on the big screen than head out to the stadium. And don't be surprised if the D4 stuff drives more fans away from major college football.

So while everybody is debating what will happen, 10 years from now, regarding future realignment... just remember that football might not even be the sport the "drives the bus" anymore. I'll predict that a basket of sports will be the ones that drives the bus, football (universal), basketball (universal), baseball (south & west), hockey (north & upper midwest), lacrosse (east coast & I think in some parts of B1G country), and soccer (universal).

It pains me to say this because I'm a die hard football fan; however, I see the writing on the wall. If football, in general, were a stock... I'd short the hell out of it.
08-13-2014 08:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Advertisement