RE: Best MAC Wrestler Ever?
How many champs have MAC teams had?
03-19-2011 09:22 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
MileHighBronco Offline
Legend

I Root For: Broncos
WMU had an NCAA Champion way back in the day when I was a student at WMU. My memory isn't what it once was, so the details may be sketchy. I believe that the year was 1975-76 or thereabouts.

Doug Wynn, if I remember correctly. Don't remember the weight class but in the 170 lb range in the upper weights. I think he beat the undefeated defending champ from Oklahoma in the finals. Finished unbeaten and national champ.

As a result, WMU dropped wrestling (and swimming/diving, men's track & field). I joke but it is and was tragic to lose a sport like track where WMU always was good. I hated to lose them all - Title IX screwed up a lot of things.
03-19-2011 09:34 PM
BullBoy Offline
1st String

I Root For: Buffalo
CMU has a ton of great wrestlers.. i believe the one guy was Wynn Mahalik?? He wrestled at 197 when Buffalo had Kyle Cerminara who was an all-american at 197..
03-19-2011 10:44 PM
Advertisement

Boca Rocket Offline
Legend

I Root For:
Toledo Rocket -Greg Wojociechowski-NCAA Champ and All-American Heavyweight.
03-20-2011 12:20 AM
H2Oville Rocket Offline
Legend

I Root For: Toledo R0ckets
(03-20-2011 12:20 AM)Boca Rocket Wrote:  Toledo Rocket -Greg Wojociechowski-NCAA Champ and All-American Heavyweight.

And hard luck Olympian as I recall-made the team the year the US boycotted. Also had to compete against Chris (last name is escaping me) who weighed over 400 pounds- Wojo was probably about 240 tops. Loved to watch UT matches back then-crowd would start chanting "Wojo! Wojo!" when he started loosening up and the other team's heavyweight would just melt.
03-20-2011 07:19 AM
CMUprof Offline
1st String

I Root For: CMU
Ask the question again after next season. Kent's Dustin Kilgore just won a national championship as a JR. I don't know if the MAC ever had a 2 time champ.